Steve Schiltz, of the band, Longwave, has been jotting down songs for the past 18 months or so. After taking an original 20 songs and condensing them to a mere 13 or 14, Monsters was all but forgotten, until his manager made a special request.

“My manager asked me for a few songs that were exclusive. I didn’t want to get my heart broken, so I asked not to be told what the songs were for,” recalls Steve. “They called a month later and wanted an edit- they wanted the intro longer. I was still in the dark about it. A couple of days later I was still in my basement studio doing these little edits for something that may be on the big screen somewhere. In the end, I never got a formal introduction- it was just announced.”

Monsters went from cutting room floor to track number 10 on the billboard chart topper New Moon soundtrack, and Hurricane Bells has become an overnight sensation. Literally.

Amazingly, all of the components that go into the song were performed solely by Steve, and dubbed together- voice, drums, guitar, and bass guitar.

“You’ve got to understand that everything was recorded on my laptop in this basement in Queens (New York). It cost me nothing but my time to do it- a far cry from the amazing producers and recording budgets. These are essentially demos.”

With a song poised to become an overnight sensation, Steve suddenly found himself scrambling to name his new “band,” which two months ago, was nonexistent.

“I was goofing off on the internet and just put these words together. Turns out that hurricane bells were heavy stone bells hung out by the sea. They only made a noise during a late night storm.” The name was dark and deep, perfect for what Steve was looking for, and, *poof* Hurricane Bells was born.

“I’ve seen my clip, but the first time I saw it, it didn’t seem right. It was jarring,” says Steve. “It was hard to get my head around (the fact) that it was my song; it felt like someone had just dubbed it in.”

The song plays twice during the beginning New Moon- once in Bella’s truck as she drives to school, and again, as Edward strides towards her in the parking lot.

After having received several offers, Steve, aka Hurricane Bells, is releasing his collection of songs in a debut album titled Tonight is the Ghost digitally on November 10, 2009 via Vagrant Records


About the record, his publicist says:

Tonight Is The Ghost is a moody, gorgeous mix of somber undercurrents and chiming guitars bathed in echo and reverb.  Running the musical gamut from hauntingly melancholic (“This Year”, “Tenterhooks”) to driving, guitar-jangling pop (“This Is A Test”, “Darkness Is So Deep”) to mournful, lovely atmospheric ballads (“I Can’t Remember”, “Tonight I’m Going To Be Like A Shooting Star”), the songs are all linked by a distinctive late-night feel that threads a certain ease and soulfulness throughout the album.

Track listing for Tonight Is The Ghost:

1. This Year

2. This Is A Test

3. I Can’t Remember

4. Tonight I’m Going To Be Like A Shooting Star

5. Darkness Is So Deep

6. Crocodile

7. Freezing Rain

8. The Winters In New York

9. The Cold Has Killed Us

10. Tenterhooks

Hurricane Bells – Monsters – From “The Twilight Saga: New Moon” from Hurricane Bells on Vimeo.